Saint Meinrad Archabbey

A catholic monastery devoted to the teachings of St. Benedict

Retreats

Print Page

Perhaps you're interested in learning how Scripture, prayer, Benedictine wisdom or how art can inspire your spirituality. Saint Meinrad offers a variety of monk-led retreats during the year - on these and other topics.

Three-day retreats are offered on weekends (Friday evening through Sunday noon) or during the week (Tuesday evening through Thursday noon).

To register online, begin by clicking on the title of the retreat that interests you.

Upcoming Retreats

  • Friday, August 21 - Sunday, August 23, 2015

    The Beatitudes: The Foundation of Christian Spirituality


    More

  • Friday, August 28 - Sunday, August 30, 2015

    Being Born Anew

    This retreat focuses on key markers of the Christian life, those visible characteristics of a person who belongs to Christ. Christ is "making all things new" (Rev. 21:5), and being born anew is a …
    More

  • Friday, September 11 - Sunday, September 13, 2015

    Caravaggio's Concern

    Caravaggio was a gifted artist genius who was once rejected as a mere rebel, but today is recognized as a great innovator in both the worlds of art and theology. Although a certain sinner, he can …
    More

  • Tuesday, September 15 - Thursday, September 17, 2015

    Mary, Mother of the Church

    (Midweek Retreat) Mary bore the Word of God in flesh in her own body. She thereby became Mother of the Savior and Mother of His Mystical Body the Church. This retreat will reflect more deeply on …
    More

  • Friday, September 18 - Sunday, September 20, 2015

    Sleeper Awake!

    In Ephesians we read, "Sleeper, awake! Rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you." And in his Letter to the Romans, St. Paul writes that Christians "ought to consider themselves the dead b…
    More

  • Friday, September 25 - Sunday, September 27, 2015

    Living Monastic Values in Everyday Life

    The Rule of St. Benedict for monasteries has many valuable lessons for those living outside the monastic setting. Conferences will focus on identifying some of the important aspects of the monast…
    More

  • Friday, October 9 - Sunday, October 11, 2015

    Looking Deeper into the Rule of St. Benedict

    This retreat will explore the Rule of St. Benedict and related material. Much of monastic wisdom applies to the lives of busy Christians. The retreat will focus on stability and change (conversat…
    More

  • Monday, October 19 - Friday, October 23, 2015

    The Sermon on the Mount: Challenges for Contemporary Priestly Ministry

    (Priests Retreat)
    More

  • Friday, October 23 - Sunday, October 25, 2015

    Listening to God with a Discerning Ear

    This retreat focuses on how to recognize the call of Christ amid the many loud distractions of our world. Discernment is a skill that, when developed through a life of prayer, can help us to know …
    More

  • Tuesday, October 27 - Thursday, October 29, 2015

    Beauty as a Pathway to God: Religious Art and Symbol in the Spiritual Life, Part 2

    (Midweek Retreat) This retreat will explore how beauty in nature and art reveals God's presence and action in the world and examines the strength and power of religious imagery art and architectur…
    More

More Retreats