Saint Meinrad Archabbey

A catholic monastery devoted to the teachings of St. Benedict

Retreats

Print Page

Perhaps you're interested in learning how Scripture, prayer, Benedictine wisdom or art can enhance your spirituality. Saint Meinrad offers a variety of monk-led retreats during the year - on these and other topics.

Three-day retreats are offered on weekends (Friday evening through Sunday noon) or during the week (Tuesday evening through Thursday noon).

To register online, begin by clicking on the title of the retreat that interests you.

Upcoming Retreats

  • Monday, July 24 - Friday, July 28, 2017

    Bringing to Life the Word of God in Song

    Learn how the practice of Gregorian chant brings to life the Word of God in song, and study the intimate relationship between the proclaimed Word of God and its melodic setting. In this advanced …
    More

  • Tuesday, July 25 - Thursday, July 27, 2017

    Forgiven and Forgiving

    (Midweek Retreat) In the Lord's Prayer, we make a covenant with God that we will forgive as we have been forgiven. What are the practical consequences of this spiritual covenant in everyday life? …
    More

  • Friday, August 18 - Sunday, August 20, 2017

    Benedictine Spirituality

    The conferences for this retreat will address certain key components of the Benedictine charism distilled from the Rule of St. Benedict and the lived tradition of modern Benedictine monastic comm…
    More

  • Tuesday, August 22 - Thursday, August 24, 2017

    Pray Your Way to Happiness

    (Midweek Retreat) We often think of prayer as an obligation to God. Actually, prayer is the very substance of life, the key to strength and joy, here and hereafter. This retreat is a practical in…
    More

  • Friday, August 25 - Sunday, August 27, 2017

    Beauty as a Pathway to God: Religious Art and Symbol in the Spiritual Life

    This retreat will explore how beauty in nature and art reveals God's presence and action in the world and examines the strength and power of religious imagery, art and architecture through the ag…
    More

  • Friday, September 15 - Sunday, September 17, 2017

    Praying with the Gospel of Matthew


    More

  • Friday, September 22 - Sunday, September 24, 2017

    Contemplative Living

    This retreat will explore the topic of deep prayer, as gleaned from the mystical tradition of the Church. Contemplation is a mode of prayer rooted in one's inmost self - the simple and quiet cente…
    More

  • Friday, September 29 - Sunday, October 1, 2017

    The Bellinis: Artists of the Renaissance in Venice

    Using visual aids (slides and movies), we will explore the beautiful spirituality of a series of fantastic artists who gave to the world some extraordinary spiritual works of the high Renaissance…
    More

  • Tuesday, October 3 - Thursday, October 5, 2017

    Hail Mary Full of Grace: Pray with Mary

    (Midweek Retreat) The Mother of God has given us a mystical connection with her Son. We will explore different ways we can unite our prayer with Mary and come to a deeper connection with our Lord…
    More

  • Friday, October 13 - Sunday, October 15, 2017

    Reading the Scriptures

    This retreat will explore various ways to read the bible stories and look for their meaning for us today. Often this is called lectio divina - the ancient practice of reading the Scriptures,…
    More

More Retreats