Saint Meinrad Archabbey

A catholic monastery devoted to the teachings of St. Benedict

Retreats

Print Page

Perhaps you're interested in learning how Scripture, prayer, Benedictine wisdom or how art can inspire your spirituality. Saint Meinrad offers a variety of monk-led retreats during the year - on these and other topics.

Three-day retreats are offered on weekends (Friday evening through Sunday noon) or during the week (Tuesday evening through Thursday noon).

To register online, begin by clicking on the title of the retreat that interests you.

Upcoming Retreats

  • Friday, August 8 - Sunday, August 10, 2014

    St. Benedict on Humility

    Conferences focus on Chapter 7 of the Rule of St. Benedict. The lengthiest chapter in the Rule forms an axis on which the rest of the Rule turns. Rather than a list of tasks to be achieved, the r…
    More

  • Tuesday, August 19 - Thursday, August 21, 2014

    Living Monastic Values in Everyday Life

    (Midweek Retreat) The Rule of St. Benedict for monasteries has many valuable lessons for those living outside the monastic setting. Conferences will focus on identifying some of the important a…
    More

  • Friday, August 22 - Sunday, August 24, 2014

    Forgiven and Forgiving

    In the Lord's Prayer, we ask to be forgiven as we forgive others. We know that we should forgive, but how to do it can be a mystery. This retreat will explore the scriptural basis of forgiveness …
    More

  • Friday, August 29 - Sunday, August 31, 2014

    Intentionality: Good Zeal in the Rule of St. Benedict


    More

  • Friday, September 12 - Sunday, September 14, 2014

    The Sermon on the Mount: A Handbook for Living in the Kingdom of God


    More

  • Tuesday, September 16 - Thursday, September 18, 2014

    Beauty as a Pathway to God: Religious Art and Symbol in the Spiritual Life, Part 2

    (Midweek Retreat) This retreat will explore how beauty in nature and art reveals God's presence and action in the world and examines the strength and power of religious imagery art and architec…
    More

  • Friday, September 19 - Sunday, September 21, 2014

    The Sacred Journey: Exploring the Art of Pilgrimage

    One of the many disciplines of the spiritual life is pilgrimage, which can serve as an inspiring metaphor for our whole Christian life. This retreat will observe both the actual practice of pilgr…
    More

  • Friday, September 26 - Sunday, September 28, 2014

    Christ-life and Meek in a World Torn by Violence and Discord

    Conferences focus on non-violence and gentleness as integral to authentic Christian spirituality. The humble Christ calls out, "Come to me…and learn from me, for I am meek and humble in heart." T…
    More

  • Friday, October 3 - Sunday, October 5, 2014

    Revisiting the Rosary

    The rosary is a favorite form of prayer for many Christians. Like all prayer, its richness deepens with greater understanding of its history and practice. This retreat is for rosary beginners and …
    More

  • Friday, October 10 - Sunday, October 12, 2014

    Listening to God with a Discerning Ear

    This retreat focuses on how to recognize the call of Christ amid the many loud distractions of our world. Discernment is a skill that, when developed through a life of prayer, can help us to know …
    More

More Retreats