Saint Meinrad Archabbey

A catholic monastery devoted to the teachings of St. Benedict

All Scheduled Retreats

Print Page
  • Friday, December 19 - Sunday, December 21, 2014

    Jesus: Savior and Son

    The Scriptures for Christmas help prepare the home of our hearts for His coming.
    More

  • Friday, February 13 - Sunday, February 15, 2015

    How Deep is Your Love?

    (Married Couples only) Learning to love more and more deeply is the art of a successful marriage. Come and celebrate this Valentine's weekend by learning some aids to this great loving art. Audio…
    More

  • Tuesday, March 3 - Thursday, March 5, 2015

    Fully Alive at Mass: Putting the Most in to Get the Most out

    Do you find yourself going to Mass and leaving unaffected by the Word of God and His love poured out? Come explore the rich history and meaning of the words of the Mass, with a commitment toward …
    More

  • Friday, March 6 - Sunday, March 8, 2015

    The Way of the Cross According to the Gospel of Mark


    More

  • Monday, March 23 - Friday, March 27, 2015

    Hospitality in an Anonymous World

    (Priests Retreat) Conferences for this retreat for priests will focus on the fundamental Christian ideal and Benedictine value of hospitality as a framework for knowing and serving Christ present …
    More

  • Wednesday, April 1 - Sunday, April 5, 2015

    Holy Week Retreat

    The retreat will foster the faith and devotion of participants in the liturgies of Holy Week. Conferences will offer meditation and theological reflection on the liturgies of Holy Week from Palm …
    More

  • Monday, April 13 - Friday, April 17, 2015

    Beyond the Cloister: Benedictine Principles in the Life of the Parish Priest

    (Priests Retreat) Several years ago, a book appeared in England titled Doing Business with Benedict. One reader commented, "Managing permanent, rapid change is the ultimate task for business from…
    More

  • Friday, April 17 - Sunday, April 19, 2015

    A Weekend with St. Teresa of Avila

    In the year 2015, the Church celebrates the 500th anniversary of the birth of St. Teresa of Avila, Doctor of the Church, mystic and certainly one the greatest teachers of prayer in the Catholic t…
    More

  • Tuesday, April 28 - Thursday, April 30, 2015

    St. Benedict's Way

    (Midweek Retreat) This retreat will focus on the Rule of St. Benedict and how it can apply to living in today's fast-paced society. Many chapters of the Rule can be applied and adapted and can su…
    More

  • Thursday, April 30 - Sunday, May 3, 2015

    Sleeper Awake!

    (Secretaries and Parish Administrators Retreat) In Ephesians we read, "Sleeper, awake! Rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you." And in his Letter to the Romans, St. Paul writes that Chr…
    More

  • Friday, May 15 - Sunday, May 17, 2015

    A Monastic Witness to Non-violence

    Fr. Louis (Thomas) Merton, OCSO, believed the pursuit of peace was not optional for Christians. Merton began his monastic vocation at Gethsemane as a pious young convert to Catholicism who also h…
    More

  • Tuesday, May 26 - Thursday, May 28, 2015

    A Blessed Life: Living the Beatitudes

    (Midweek Retreat) This retreat will look in depth at the content of Jesus' Sermon on the Mount as a guide for joyful living. 
    More

  • Friday, May 29 - Sunday, May 31, 2015

    The Wisdom of Nazareth

    This retreat will focus on Blessed Charles de Foucauld's insights into living the ordinary life in Christ. Exploring his most interesting life and expressive writings, we'll learn his special spi…
    More

  • Monday, June 8 - Friday, June 12, 2015

    Reading the Word of God in the Liturgy

    In liturgical celebrations, the reader ends the scriptural text with "The Word of the Lord." It's often the case that readers are not trained in public speaking, and the significance of the text i…
    More

  • Friday, June 19 - Sunday, June 21, 2015

    Journey toward Holiness with St. Benedict

    This retreat will look into two main themes. One is the "universal call to holiness" by the Second Vatican Council. Then we will look into the Rule of St. Benedict and how he invites his monks to…
    More

  • Tuesday, June 23 - Thursday, June 25, 2015

    Pray Your Way to Happiness

    (Midweek Retreat) We often think of prayer as an obligation to God. Actually, prayer is the very substance of life, the key to strength and joy, here and hereafter. This retreat is a practical in…
    More

  • Friday, July 3 - Sunday, July 5, 2015

    Monastic Practices

    For centuries, Christian men and women have been leaving "the world" to seek God in the solitude and silencer of "the Desert." This retreat will focus on the particular prayer, asceticism and cha…
    More

  • Friday, July 10 - Sunday, July 12, 2015

    The Cry of the Earth

    This retreat studies Christian ecology in a suffering world today. As Christians, we are called to be wise stewards of our precious earth and thus further God's creation. This retreat will not on…
    More

  • Monday, July 13 - Friday, July 17, 2015

    Bringing to Life the Word of God in Song

    The seminar will be offered in a beginner session and in an advanced session on July 13-17, 2015. Learn how the practice of Gregorian chant brings to life the Word of God in song, and study the i…
    More

  • Friday, July 17 - Sunday, July 19, 2015

    Coming Home

    A retreat for recovering alcoholics by Fr. Colman, a recovering alcoholic monk-priest. This is a retreat that offers recovering alcoholics of Catholic heritage an invitation to consider how Catho…
    More

  • Monday, July 20 - Friday, July 24, 2015

    Bringing to Life the Word of God in Song

    (Advanced Session) Learn how the practice of Gregorian chant brings to life the Word of God in song, and study the intimate relationship between the proclaimed Word of God and its melodic setting…
    More

  • Tuesday, July 28 - Thursday, July 30, 2015

    Benedictine Spirituality: Nothing Extraordinary but Everything Ordinary in Living Daily Life

    Midweek Retreat.
    More

  • Friday, July 31 - Sunday, August 2, 2015

    A Step 11 Retreat for Recovering Alcoholics and Alanons

    This retreat is for those seeking, through heartfelt prayer and meditation, to improve their conscious contract with God, as they understand Him, praying only for knowledge of His will for them an…
    More

  • Friday, August 7 - Thursday, August 13, 2015

    The Image as a Window to the Spiritual: An Artist's Six-Day Hands-on Workshop and Retreat

    From the beginning, art has been used as a pathway toward spiritual insight and awareness. On this "studio retreat," each participant will work in one of several media throughout the week. Emphas…
    More

  • Friday, August 21 - Sunday, August 23, 2015

    The Beatitudes: The Foundation of Christian Spirituality


    More

  • Friday, August 28 - Sunday, August 30, 2015

    Being Born Anew

    This retreat focuses on key markers of the Christian life, those visible characteristics of a person who belongs to Christ. Christ is "making all things new" (Rev. 21:5), and being born anew is a …
    More

  • Friday, September 11 - Sunday, September 13, 2015

    Caravaggio's Concern

    Caravaggio was a gifted artist genius who was once rejected as a mere rebel, but today is recognized as a great innovator in both the worlds of art and theology. Although a certain sinner, he can …
    More

  • Tuesday, September 15 - Thursday, September 17, 2015

    Mary, Mother of the Church

    (Midweek Retreat) Mary bore the Word of God in flesh in her own body. She thereby became Mother of the Savior and Mother of His Mystical Body the Church. This retreat will reflect more deeply on …
    More

  • Friday, September 18 - Sunday, September 20, 2015

    Sleeper Awake!

    In Ephesians we read, "Sleeper, awake! Rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you." And in his Letter to the Romans, St. Paul writes that Christians "ought to consider themselves the dead b…
    More

  • Friday, September 25 - Sunday, September 27, 2015

    Living Monastic Values in Everyday Life

    The Rule of St. Benedict for monasteries has many valuable lessons for those living outside the monastic setting. Conferences will focus on identifying some of the important aspects of the monast…
    More

  • Friday, October 2 - Sunday, October 4, 2015

    Essential Structures of Catholic Life

    Guided by the Holy Spirit, the early Christians learned how to be Church by giving unremitting attention to four foundational elements: the teaching of the Apostles, fostering strong personal rel…
    More

  • Friday, October 9 - Sunday, October 11, 2015

    Looking Deeper into the Rule of St. Benedict

    This retreat will explore the Rule of St. Benedict and related material. Much of monastic wisdom applies to the lives of busy Christians. The retreat will focus on stability and change (conversat…
    More

  • Monday, October 19 - Friday, October 23, 2015

    The Sermon on the Mount: Challenges for Contemporary Priestly Ministry

    (Priests Retreat)
    More

  • Friday, October 23 - Sunday, October 25, 2015

    A Monastic Witness to Non-violence

    This retreat focuses on how to recognize the call of Christ amid the many loud distractions of our world. Discernment is a skill that, when developed through a life of prayer, can help us to know …
    More

  • Tuesday, October 27 - Thursday, October 29, 2015

    Beauty as a Pathway to God: Religious Art and Symbol in the Spiritual Life, Part 2

    (Midweek Retreat) This retreat will explore how beauty in nature and art reveals God's presence and action in the world and examines the strength and power of religious imagery art and architectur…
    More

  • Friday, November 13 - Sunday, November 15, 2015

    Covenant: Our Relationship with God in Christ

    The word "testament" means "covenant," and a covenant is a relationship sealed by an oath with mutual responsibilities and blessings. This retreat will explore our relationship with God revealed …
    More

  • Friday, November 20 - Sunday, November 22, 2015

    Aging Gracefully (Revised): A Retreat for 60s and Over

    Today people are living longer and richer lives. This retreat will focus on how best to allow God's grace to enhance these senior years. Deepening one's spirituality through a more intense prayer …
    More

  • Friday, December 18 - Sunday, December 20, 2015

    The Infancy Narratives of Matthew and Luke


    More