Retreats

Perhaps you're interested in learning how Scripture, prayer, Benedictine wisdom or art can enhance your spirituality.

Saint Meinrad offers a variety of monk-led retreats during the year - on these and other topics at our Guest House and Retreat Center in southern Indiana.

Three-day retreats are held on weekends (Friday evening through Sunday noon) or during the week (Tuesday evening through Thursday noon).

Check-in time for retreats is 2-5 p.m. Vespers in the Archabbey Church is at 5 p.m. followed by supper. The opening conference typically begins at 6:30 or 7:30 p.m. The retreat concludes with lunch on the last day of the program. A complete schedule is provided at registration.

To register online, begin by clicking on the title of the retreat that interests you.

In Sickness and in Health: Prayer, Covenant, and Healing 146758

Friday, June 14, 2024 - Sunday, June 16, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

Most of us need healing – physically or spiritually. Drawing on his own experience of health difficulties and the Church’s rich theology of prayer, Fr. Lorenzo’s conferences will focus on our coven...


Learn More

A Step 11 Retreat for Recovering Alcoholics and Alanons – Conscious Contact 146822

Friday, July 12, 2024 - Sunday, July 14, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

This retreat will lead you to a broader understanding of Step 11 and “conscious contact.” There will be time to explore “conscious contact” in prayer, meditation, and in mindful living. While engag...


Learn More

Summer Chant Workshop: Chant Pedagogy and Vocal Technique

Monday, July 29, 2024 - Friday, August 2, 2024
Saint Meinrad Archabbey

The focus of the week will be on vocal technique and pedagogy.


Learn More

Young Adult Retreat

Friday, August 2, 2024 - Sunday, August 4, 2024
Saint Meinrad Archabbey

An unstructured retreat for young adults, ages 18-39 for only $50. Led by Fr. Simon Herrmann, OSB.


Learn More

Discipleship According to the Gospel of Mark 147154

Friday, August 23, 2024 - Sunday, August 25, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

This retreat will focus on the way Mark’s Gospel presents the disciples. They struggle to understand who Jesus really is. What can Mark’s Gospel teach us about our own discipleship?


Learn More

Advanced Patterns of Christian Prayer 147186

Friday, September 6, 2024 - Sunday, September 8, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

Has your prayer life plateaued? Has prayer become dry and “boring” to you? This retreat will explore the contemplative dimensions of prayer coming out of the Christian tradition from as far back as...


Learn More

Letting Holy Leisure Be Our Way 147252

Friday, September 13, 2024 - Sunday, September 15, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

(Retreat for young adults 20-40 years old) – The late 20th-century philosopher Josef Piper described that our world is heading toward “total work.” We are being subsumed into work, and the world’s ...


Learn More

Navigating Difference: Serving in Multicultural Communities 147285

Friday, September 20, 2024 - Sunday, September 22, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

What are the different assumptions we make about others based on their race and cultural background and, more importantly, why do we make them? How do these assumptions affect our behavior? How doe...


Learn More

A Rosary Retreat 147316

Friday, October 11, 2024 - Sunday, October 13, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

This retreat will examine the history and practice of the rosary in the Christian life. Participants may wish to attend the rosary devotion at our Monte Cassino Shrine after the retreat on Sunday, ...


Learn More

The Gospel of Mark: Lessons in Rejection 147348

Monday, October 14, 2024 - Friday, October 18, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

(Priests Retreat) Mark’s Gospel can be understood as being structured around four major rejections experienced by Jesus. This retreat will consider Mark’s Gospel through the lens of these four majo...


Learn More

Young Adult Retreat

Friday, October 18, 2024 - Sunday, October 20, 2024
Saint Meinrad Archabbey

An unstructured retreat for young adults, ages 18-39 for only $50. Led by Fr. Simon Herrmann, OSB.


Learn More

Integrating Catholic Faith and Patient Care in Today’s World 163960

Friday, November 1, 2024 - Sunday, November 3, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

The aim of this retreat is to increase the knowledge and comfort level of physicians, nurses, advanced practice providers, and other healthcare professionals in applying Catholic faith and spiritua...


Learn More

Photography Basics: Camera, Composition and Technique 166219

Saturday, November 2, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

Photography techniques, terminology and equipment can seem complicated and intimidating at first. This hands-on workshop is designed for beginner photographers who want to increase basic photograph...


Learn More

Spiritual Poverty and the “Magisterium of Frailty” 147380

Friday, November 8, 2024 - Sunday, November 10, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

In the summer of 2022, Pope Francis spoke about the need for Christians to take better care of those impoverished by physical and mental diminishment. Too often the sick, the very elderly, the home...


Learn More

The Passion Narrative of Mark’s Gospel 147412

Friday, November 15, 2024 - Sunday, November 17, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

The most important section of Mark’s Gospel is the Passion Narrative. It comes last in the story, but it was probably written first. It is a model followed by all the other gospels. This retreat wi...


Learn More

Young Adult Retreat

Friday, November 29, 2024 - Sunday, December 1, 2024
Saint Meinrad Archabbey

An unstructured retreat for young adults, ages 18-39 for only $50. Led by Fr. Simon Herrmann, OSB.


Learn More

Benedictine Spirituality as Lived in Marriage 159675

Friday, December 13, 2024 - Sunday, December 15, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

(Married Couples Only) This retreat explores the Benedictine vows of obedience, stability, and conversion as they can be applied in marriage, with humility as the thread that binds these three vows...


Learn More

Christmas Celebration at Saint Meinrad Archabbey 162038

Tuesday, December 24, 2024 - Thursday, December 26, 2024
Archabbey Guest House and Retreat Center

This “celebration,” not “retreat,” will be an opportunity to immerse oneself in the richness of the tradition that we celebrate at Saint Meinrad. Your visit will include opportunities to join the m...


Learn More

Winter Chant Workshop: Introduction to Chant

Monday, January 20, 2025 - Friday, January 24, 2025
Saint Meinrad Archabbey

This workshop is designed for directors of liturgical music and singers in parish liturgies who are new to chant. 


Learn More